• Pop!_Planet is still very much under development. Data for the wiki is being sourced from the Arch Linux and Ubuntu wikis, along with a bunch of completely unique content specific to Pop!_OS, and sourcing, converting and updating that content takes time; please be patient. If you can't find what you're looking for here, check the Arch Linux and Ubuntu wikis.

Cloud services for Linux

Derivates

Sep 24, 2019
Greetings everyone, I'll just go straight to the point. I'm a Windows users (already have a lot of experience with Linux, specially arch and POP_OS) but I've always struggled because I use Microsoft's OneDrive service in a daily basis.

I personally have a plan which gives me 1TB storage, and the ability of just dragging stuff into Windows' Explorer and have it on my phone is just amazing.
College provided me a few months ago (I'm a freshman) an account with everything you could ever get with Office (Storage, apps, etc)... I mean, I guess I could get around by working with the Office apps via Web (it's not that bad being honest, still lacks some features) but the main issue is still the the folder syncing and what I mentioned a few sentences before.

I've read a lot about Dropbox which could be a decent alternative, but also read stuff Nextcloud, the only thing I hear is good stuff but also that you need to host the server/service (or whatever)..but...that does that mean I have to pay..? Isit better than Dropbox?

I'm super attached to Linux already, the setup and switch is there and almost done, just need my files on the go, honestly OneDrive is inexplicably a must for me.

I'd appreciate any feedback, also pardon me if this is not the correct section.

The_Counselor

Apr 23, 2019
I've been thinking about trying Nextcloud myself for a while, just haven't gotten around to it. It is my understanding that Nextcloud can be downloaded as a snap with everything you need packaged in, and just run as an app from any PC.

mmstick

System76 Staff
Founding Member