• Pop!_Planet is still very much under development. Data for the wiki is being sourced from the Arch Linux and Ubuntu wikis, along with a bunch of completely unique content specific to Pop!_OS, and sourcing, converting and updating that content takes time; please be patient. If you can't find what you're looking for here, check the Arch Linux and Ubuntu wikis.

Hey! I am having trouble installing Pop OS 19.04, I'm a newb, and would like some help

maholeycow

Aug 13, 2019
Hey guys, so I posted here last week to try to get some help installing Pop OS 19.04 on my computer. I want to be able to dual boot for either windows 10 or Pop OS. I am having problems due to my NVIDIA card and BIOS I'm sure.
Besides more memory customization, this is the laptop:
https://www.amazon.com/NP8956-Gaming-Display-i7-8750H-Windows/dp/B07PJM6Q2G#customerReviews
Here is what I have done so far:
  • I downloaded the Pop ISO (with NVIDIA drivers built in), and have tried using both Rufus and balenaEtcher to write a bootable OS to 3 different USB's
  • I have BIOS mode UEFI, so I did things like turned off fast boot, disabled secure boot, etc.
  • When I either restart my computer computer while holding a certain F key, or by clicking restart from Windows while holding shift, I can get to my BIOS boot menu, and I click on boot manager.
  • I select the USB to boot from with the ISO
When I went to try Pop OS with the NVIDIA drivers installed on the iso, I ended up getting to a point where I select my language, and things of the sort. That installer also freezes right after you select your keyboard layout configuration. This also happened when I used the ISO without NVIDIA drivers
Any idea as to what is going on? Any help would be awesome. I have been trying for like a week.

maholeycow

Aug 13, 2019
I just tested and said English (macintosh), hit select, and it is stuck still at this point.

TeamLinux01

May 5, 2019